Are you eligible for a CPL?
- You must be a US Citizen or lawfully admitted alien.
- You must have been a Michigan resident for at least 90 days (Some exceptions to this may apply.)
- You must be at least 21 years of age.
- You must not be a criminal.
If you just moved to Michigan, have ever been arrested, or have been found mentally incompetent you should review the prohibitions beginning with #3 here.
Do you have the required training?
A Pistol Safety Training Course is required by the state of Michigan for all new applicants or all renewal applicants with a CPL that has been expired for more than one year.
In Michigan the certificate of training is valid for 5 years from the date issued.
Apply for your CPL
You can download the application here (WORD or PDF)
You can print (or get someone else to) this yourself and fill it out, or wait and fill it out a supplied copy at your county clerk’s office.
DO NOT SIGN OR DATE the application until you are directed to at the clerk’s office.
Your application must be submitted in person at the county clerk’s office in the county you live in (which must match your state ID.) The cost is $115, $100 covers the application fee and $15 covers livescan fingerprinting. You may want to check in advance the payment methods in your county. Some county’s cover everything through a single payment (cash, check, credit card, etc.) while some only accept the application fee; then you have to pay the fingerprint processor separately which may accept multiple forms of payment as well or may only accept cash.
You MUST present your original signed CPL course certificate when applying. Copies are not accepted. Some counties take the certificate while some will make a copy and return the original to you. You can not apply with a copy, if they are keeping that on file the copy must be made by them.
You will receive a receipt for your application. Do not discard that receipt.
Wait for your CPL to arrive!
The county will send your CPL application and fingerprints to the Michigan State Police cpl unit where they run the background check and approve or deny the application within 45 days. Most people receive their CPL in the mail much sooner.
If you do not receive your CPL within 45 days, that receipt you saved when applying becomes your permit temporarily until you receive your CPL or a denial.
Once you do receive your CPL it will expire on your birthday no less than 4 years and no more than 5 years from the date issued. This will depend on the application date and the applicant’s date of birth.